The Club Begins
The Ogmore Down Golfing Society - as the original club was called - was registered on 21st August 1905 and to this society Mr D T Alexander quickly transferred his rights.
A local paper at the time commented on the foundation of the society -
“A movement is on foot (sic) to construct new golf links on Ogmore Down, near Bridgend, on land owned by the Duchy of Lancaster. The site, which is in close proximity to the sea, lies between the picturesque village of Southerndown and the mouth of the Ogmore and Ewenny rivers. --- The land on which it has been proposed to make the new links has been surveyed by well-known professional golfers, who have pronounced it to be an ideal ground for the purpose and such are its natural advantages that the site can be made to rank amongst the finest links in the kingdom."
With the £300 thus raised the course was planned and the number of shareholders and the amounts invested were considerably increased in the months ahead. On 12th December 1905 the Statutory General Meeting of The Ogmore Down Golfing Society (whose registered offices were Arlington Chambers, Newport, Mon) was called. Held at the Dunraven Hotel, Bridgend, the meeting heard that a total number of Shares in the Society of 135 had been allotted. The original Shareholders were Messrs D T Alexander, J Duncan, J AAlexander, E M Linton and John Moxon. The Nominal Share Capital was £3,000, divided into 600 shares of £5 each.
The original shareholders became the first Directors of the Society and the Auditors were Messrs Walter Meacock & Co of Newport, Mon.
|Southerndown Golf Club
Ogmore by Sea,
Bridgend, CF32 0QP
|Copyright © 2013 Southerndown Golf Club, All rights reserved.